I’m a Freelancer

I’m a freelancer. I work every day and all the time.

For those who think that being a freelancer is having a dream job, I’m sorry, but it’s a lot harder than it looks.

 – We have available hours when we want. No.

I find myself sending emails at 4:00 am, editing overnight, just to please the customer.

 – We made a lot of money. I Do not.

I have to make a redoubled money management to allow for some food when I have months with less work.

We go on vacation when we want. No.

First we don’t make a lot of money, and when we make a good money (we don’t) it’s because we’re working hard and we don’t have the time to spend on vacation.

For me and for my work these are the situations that I feel most in the body.
And when do I have a break? I find myself sleeping through the songs.

However, for me the good part of me managing my job is that I can take whatever job I want. And that brings pleasant surprises.

I leave some images of the last work I did. A corporate dinner. On a boat. A walk along the Tejo river. The moment we have a break we photograph those things that are not supposed. It was impossible to remain indifferent to the night view over Lisbon.

By the way… this is my partner.

Eu sou freelancer. Eu trabalho todos os dias e a toda a hora.

Para quem pensa que ser freelancer é ter uma emprego de sonho, lamento mas é muito mais difícil do que parece.

– Ter horas disponíveis quando queremos. Não.

Dou por mim a enviar email’s às 4h da manhã, edição de imagem de um dia para o outro, só para agradar o cliente.

– Ganhamos muito dinheiro. Eu não.

Tenho de fazer uma gestão redobrada para que não me falte o que comer quando tenho meses de menos trabalho.

– Vamos de férias quando queremos. Não.

Primeiro não ganhamos muito dinheiro, e quando ganhamos muito dinheiro (não ganhamos) é porque estamos a trabalhar muito e não temos tempo para isso.

Para mim e para o meu trabalho estas são a situações que mais sinto no corpo.
E quando tenho uma folga? Dou por mim a dormir pelos cantos.

No entanto, para mim a parte boa de ser eu a gerir o meu trabalho é que posso aceitar o trabalho que quiser. E isso trás surpresas agradáveis.

Deixo algumas imagens do ultima trabalho que fiz. Um jantar de empresa. Num barco. Um passeio pelo rio Tejo. Nos momento em que temos uma pausa fotografamos aquelas coisas que não são supostas. Era impossível ficar indiferente à vista nocturna sobre Lisboa.

A propósito… este é o meu colega.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

TOPSHIT PHOTOGRAPHY blog

Photography, Fine Art, Wet Plate Collodion, Alternative photography

Mirabili Vestium

Wordpress Fashion Blog

